Klaus Ellerhusen Holm


Photo by Peter Gannushkin



Klaus Ellerhusen Holm was born in Oslo on July 30, 1979. Currently living in Trondheim and working in the field of improvised music and the outer regions of jazz. Enjoying and feeling at home in a number of different settings within this environment. 

Started playing the cornet at age six, but soon after changed to the saxophone. He has a bachelor degree from the jazz department at the Trondheim music conservatory and has studied composition at the Norwegian academy of music. Currently the most active projects are: Honest John (cd Canarie – Rudi Records, 2014), Large Unit, led by drummer Paal Nilssen-Love (cd/vinyl/cassette/flexi disc: First Blow, Erta Ale and Rio Fun – PNL records 2014/15) and Ballrogg with Roger Arntzen and Ivar Grydeland (cds: Ballrogg – Bolage, 2008; Insomnia – Bolage, 2010; Cabin music – Hubro, 2012). He is also working in a duo format with Swedish guitarist David Stackenäs. As well as large formats with Trondheim Jazz Orchestra, where he is a steady workhorse playing works by young Norwegian composers. Among others: Kim Myhr (cd Stems and Cages – MNJ records, 2010), Øivind Brække (cds: Migrations – MNJ records, 2011),  Motorpsycho with Ståle Storløkken (cd The Death Defying Unicorn – Stickman Records, 2012) and Espen Reinertsen in 2015. In addition there are also some occasional solo performances.

He has performed music in 17 countries, and recent performances include Moers festival, Music Unlimited Wels, Art Acts St Johan, Earshot festival and Montreal Jazz festival, as well as most of the major Norwegian jazz festivals.

He has also collaborated with, or played in ad hoc settings with: Mats Äleklint, Johan Berthling, Xavier Charles, Clare Cooper, Jim Denley, Axel Dörner, Michael Duch, John Edwards, Sidsel Endresen, Sture Ericson, Ingebrigt Håker Flaten, Frode Gjerstad, Giuseppe Giufree, Ivar Grydeland, Anders Hana, Carl Ludwig Hübsch, Terje Isungset, Anita Kaasbøll, Håkon Kornstad, Ola Kvernberg, Ole Henrik Moe, Matthias Muche, Lars Myrvoll, Kim Myhr, Kjell Nordeson, John Russell, Fredrik Rundqvist, Kari Rønnekleiv, Ignaz Schick, Raymond Strid, Mattias Ståhl, Christian Wallumrød, Stian Westerhus, Joe Williamson, Ingar Zach and Per Zanussi.